Michael Lee | American Spiritual

Release Date: January 26, 2024

UPC: 3191684102566


Audio – HD(.zip)

Cover Art(.jpg)

Catalog Number: ML202301

Michael Lee’s American Spiritual stands at the intersection of European Art Music and the American Spiritual; it highlights stories told by Black Americans. It comprises piano works by Florence Price (the first African American woman to have a work premiered by a major American orchestra), Margaret Bonds (the first African American person to perform with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra), and Robert Nathaniel Dett (a leading figure of the National Association of Negro Musicians).